STRUCTURE OF THE BOOK OF REVELATION ACCORDING TO UGO VANNI, S.J. 1

Prologue (1:1-3)

PART ONE OF THE APOCALYPSE: THE SEPTET OF THE LETTERS TO THE CHURCHES

- 1. Liturgical introduction (1:4-8)
- 2. The experience of the risen Christ (1:9-20)
- 3. The letters to the seven churches (2:1-3:22)

To the church of Ephesus (2:1-7)

To the church of Smyrna (2:8-11)

To the church of Pergamum (2:12-18)

To the church of Thyatira (2:18-29)

To the church of Sardis (3:1-6)

To the church of Philadelphia (3:7-13)

To the church of Laodicea (3:14-22)

PART TWO OF THE APOCALYPSE: PROPHETIC INTERPRETATION OF HISTORY

- 1. The reading of the events that must occur (chs. 4-5)
- 2. The progressive revelation of the meaning of history: the septet of the seals (chs. 6-7)
- 3. Salvation history gets moving: the trumpet section (8:1-11:14)
- 4. The conflict between good and evil reaches its summit: the "three signs" (11:15-16:16)
- 5. The conclusion of salvation history: the condemnation of the whore and the triumph of the bride (16:17-22:5)

EPILOGUE (22:6-21)

¹ Apocalisse. Una assemblea liturgica interpreta la storia (Brescia: Ed. Queriniana, 1979, 2003¹²).